King Solomon’s ring and Arab folkstory

When I saw the Lord of the Ring , ! I looked at my sister and said isn’t the story similar with Prophet Sulayman’s ring (king Solomon) ?and she replied ,, I think so…

The ring is very famous folkstory in Arabian world, I am not sure about Hebrew (Jew culture)

This legend is especially developed by Arabic writers, who said that the ring, on which was engraved “the Most Great Name of God,” and which was given to Solomon from heaven, was partly brass and partly iron. With the brass part of the ring Solomon signed his written commands to the good Jinn, and with the iron part he signed his commands to the evil Jinn, or devils. 

jewishencyclopedia indicate: “The Arabic writers declare also that Solomon received four jewels from four different angels, and that he set them in one ring, so that he could control the four elements.”
In one of the Arabian Nights’ Entertainments, an evil jinn is described as being imprisoned in a copper bottle for 1,800 years by a lead seal stamped by the ring. King Solomon who “sent his minister…to seize me, and his vizier had me bound and brought against my will to stand before the prophet [Solomon] as a suppliant.” When the jinn stubbornly refused to proclaim his faith in God, Solomon had him imprisoned in the jar, which was sealed with lead, stamped with the royal ring inscribed with God’s name, and cast into the ocean.
It is related in the “Arabian Nights” that Sindbad, in his seventh voyage, presented Harun al-Rashid cup on which the “table of Solomon” was represented; and some think that this was the figure of “Solomon’s seal” (I don’t remember it)
About amonamon2

nothing
This entry was posted in mix, Mythology & Epics. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to King Solomon’s ring and Arab folkstory

  1. whatever says:

    Thanks for your article I truly learned one thing from it.

  2. momom says:

    Thank you for this sort of a excellent blog. Where else could one get this kind of details written in these kinds of an incite full way? I have a presentation that I am just now working on, and I have been trying to find this sort of information.

  3. SuzyinMorocco says:

    Hello there! Please could you tell me where you found that picture of the ring with the yellow stone and symbology on the stone? I have a ring that has the same set of symbols and I am trying to decipher their meaning. Thank you so much!!!

    • amonamon2 says:

      hi, I found it in one of the Arab forum which talk about magic ..You should search in Arab forums about magic and I think they will give you more details.

  4. Mouloud says:

    i am having a problem trything to contact your web page could you please contact me via my email aferiadmouloud@gmail.com
    thank you

Leave a Reply

